Skip Navigation LinksHome > Fish > Pennsylvania Fishes > Trout > Trout Season Overview

trout season overview - 2017

REGIONAL Opening Day

Two Opening DaysSaturday, April 1, 2017

Statewide Opening Day

Saturday, April 15, 2017

(How these dates are determined)

Regional Opening Day counties:
All waters in Adams, Berks, Bucks, Chester, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Franklin, Juniata, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Montgomery, Northampton, Perry, Philadelphia, Schuylkill and York counties (County Guide).

Streams on county borders that are part of Regional Opening Day:

  • Mahantango Creek, between Northumberland and Dauphin counties. This is the ONLY stream in Northumberland County opening on the earlier date.
  • West Branch Mahantango Creek, between Snyder and Juniata counties. This is the ONLY stream in Snyder County opening on the earlier date.
  • Two streams in Carbon County -- Lizard Creek and Mahoning Creek.

TIME: 8 a.m.
MINIMUM SIZE: Seven (7) inches
FISHING HOURS: 24 hours a day, after the 8 a.m. opener
CREEL LIMITS:

Regular season (opening day thru Labor Day)
    • 5 (combined species)
Extended season (Jan. 1-Feb. 28/29) & (day after Labor Day-Dec. 31)
    • 3 (combined species)

Creel limits apply to the majority of trout fishing waters. Other rules apply for Special Regulation Areas. Anglers should consult the Summary of PA Fishing Laws and Regulations, distributed free with their licenses, for more details.

FISHING LICENSES

License categories and pricing (PDF)

    • In addition to a fishing license, trout anglers 16 and older must posses a Trout/Salmon Permit (or Combination Trout-Salmon/Lake Erie Permit) to fish for trout.
    • A Lake Erie Permit (or Combination Trout-Salmon/Lake Erie Permit) is also needed to fish for trout, salmon and steelhead in Lake Erie and its tributaries.
    • Licenses must be signed in ink and displayed on an outer garment. Anglers must also be able to provide positive proof of identification (other than the fishing license) upon request of a Waterways Conservation Officer.
    • License Fees – 2017 licenses and permits are valid December 1, 2016 through December 31, 2017 (except 1, 3 and 7-day licenses) and are available beginning Dec. 1, 2016 at issuing agents statewide and online through the The Outdoor Shop.
    • Multi-Year Licenses – 3-Year, 5-Year and 10-Year licenses. Visit The Outdoor Shop to purchase. Convenience—Savings—Rewards with each purchase.

Visit our fishing license Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page to find out more about fishing licenses.