Begin Main Content Area



Robert W. McCullough, Jr.

Commissioner Enoch (Inky) Moore presented the 1996 Ralph W. Abele Conservation Heritage Award to Robert W. McCullough, Jr. at the RWA Conservation Scholarship Fund Picnic on Saturday, August 24 at the Carlisle Fish and Game Club. Moore stated that he was deeply honored to be presenting this recognition to Bob McCullough who earned it through years of work for conservation of Pennsylvania's Natural Resources. Moore then read the official citation:

Robert W. McCullough, Jr. distinguished himself by outstanding service to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in a lifetime of service to conservation. In a outstanding career as chair of the Pennsylvania Environmental Defense Foundation, as an environmental planner, as a member of the Citizens' Advisory Council and as a leader in Trout Unlimited, Mr. McCullough showed, by his hard work and dedication, a lasting commitment to protecting Pennsylvania's aquatic resources. His efforts directly affecting Pennsylvania's water resources, such as stream bank cleanup projects along Slate Run and Cedar Run, the Pine Creek protection efforts and the Babb Creek acid mine drainage projects, marked him as one of the true leaders of conservation in Pennsylvania.

He earned well-deserved recognition when Ralph Abele awarded him the Commission's Order of the White Hat and when he was selected as "Conservationist of the Year." The lifetime efforts of Robert W. McCullough, Jr. to protect, conserve and enhance Pennsylvania's natural resources reflect the highest credit on Mr. McCullough and truly warrant his selection as the 1996 winner of the Ralph W. Abele Conservation Heritage Award.

After presentation of the citation, McCullough was presented a 1996 Trout/Salmon print depicting Harveys Creek with a special plaque honoring him as the 1996 RWA Conservation Heritage Award winner.

Executive Director Peter A. Colangelo then presented McCullough with the new PFBC "White Cap" award. McCullough is only the second Pennsylvanian to win this honor.

The Ralph W. Abele Conservation Heritage Award was established after Ralph Abele's death in 1990 to recognize contributions to conservation of Pennsylvania's water resources. It is the highest honor that the Commission can bestow. Past winners include Ken Sink, Dr. Maurice Goddard, Lenny Green, and Dr. Bill Kodrich.