Begin Main Content Area


The 14th Waterways Conservation Officer Class graduated from the H.R. Stackhouse School of Fisheries Conservation and Watercraft Safety in ceremonies on June 19 at the Pennsylvania Capitol. Eleven officers completed 38 weeks of training and were sworn into office as waterways conservation officers.

The Honorable Bonnie Brigance Leadbetter, Judge of the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania administered the constitutional oath of office to the graduates. Judge Leadbetter emphasized the importance of a career in conservation and law enforcement in brief remarks prior to administering the oath.

The Honorable Bruce Smith, Chairman of the House Game and Fisheries Committee, delivered the keynote address to the new officers. Smith related many of the challenges the new officers will face in their new duties. He praised the officers for their commitment in undertaking a career in conservation enforcement.

Robert J. Bonney, President of the 14th Class, responded on behalf of the class. He gave special thanks to Tom Kamerzel, Acting Bureau Director, and training officers Guy Bowersox and Jeff Bridi, for their work with the class.

T. Curt Tereschak of Clarks Summit was awarded the class academic achievement award for the highest grade point average.

Executive Director Peter A. Colangelo presided over the ceremony. Commission Vice-President Enoch (Inky) Moore presented diplomas to the eleven graduates. Commissioners Leon Reed, Donald Lacy, Paul Mahon, Don Anderson, and Howard (Gary) Pflugfelder also participated in the ceremony, as did Boating Advisory Board member Thaddeus Piotrowski.